Slice #14: Heavenly Promises

Mark Rothko

Mark Rothko

As Winter takes it final bow in the state of my home country, Minnesota, I remembered the early days at our family cabin up north…

I remember gathering handfuls of bluebells that dotted the woods, announcing Mother Nature’s return from her winter hiatus. Wrapped in light sweaters, days were spent with the warmth of the sun on my face as I lounged by the lake listening to its icy waters lap the edges of the dock, thawing my frozen state of mind. The sky, a kaleidoscope of color, slipped to cobalt, lulling me to sleep with its heavenly promises of beautiful days to come.

33 thoughts on “Slice #14: Heavenly Promises

  1. Your image is magical. I could feel the cold against the promise of spring in your words. I could see the sky turn to cobalt as you turned to dreams. Wonderful writing.

Leave a Reply

