Slice #16: No Regrets

Today, I am a half century old. While searching for advice on how to live the second half of my life, I stumbled on an article from The Guardian, “Older and wiser: Carol Ann Duffy introduces poems of ageing.” How perfect!

Although I felt many of the poems were relevant and meaningful, it was poet, Nina Cassian, that led me to wondering what I would regret not accomplishing in my lifetime.

What I Regret

by Nina Cassian

. . . never having heard the voice of the Dodo bird . . .
. . . never having smelled the Japanese cherry trees . . .
. . . never having punished the lovers and friends that
deserted me . . .
. . . never having asked for honours that I deserved . . .
. . . never having composed a Mozart sonata . . .
. . . never having realised that I’d live long enough to
regret all the above . . .
. . . and much, much more . . .

It is my wish that I turn potential regrets into realities. Here’s to the second half of my life!

What I Might Regret

by Me

. . . never having learned how to play the violin . . .

. . . never having the confidence and courage to attempt publishing an article . . .

. . . never having felt wet, cool clay in my hands while bringing it to life on a pottery wheel . . .

. . . never having spent enough time holding hands with those I love . . .

. . . never having let my guard down to dance like no one can see me, and sing like no one can hear           me . . .

. . . never having worn a ball gown and played the role of a princess . . .

. . . never having locked up my many insecurities and lived life to the fullest without worrying . . .

. . . never having taken a leap of faith to see where life leads me . . .

. . . and much, much more . . .

Thank you to all who push me out of my comfort zone, encouraging me to be a better person.

29 thoughts on “Slice #16: No Regrets

  1. Fifty is the new thirty. I am over 50 and so much more comfortable in my (saggy) skin than I ever was in my thirties or forties. Embrace your inner knowledge and experience. I hope your 50s begin as great as mine did…

Leave a Reply

