Slice #25: Walk Alongside Me

Pablo Picasso, Girl Reading

My day was fraught with interruptions. Questions, requests and demands came at me from all angles, overwhelming my thoughts – leaving me harried, tangled in life’s monotony.

Despite the fact I was surrounded by people all day, a sense of loneliness fills me. I long for quiet conversations, or sharing a space with a close friend – creating a silent harmony of thought.

I miss my friends – the ones who are always there, waiting, ready to offer companionship and solace whenever summoned; no matter how long it has been. It has been too too long, shamefully so, since we have met up with one another. The absence of your humanity and generosity are deeply missed. I am sorry for my negligence.

Suddenly, a gift arrives. Time. Time to reconnect and reacquaint. Time to discuss what it means to be human in the every day. Time to lose ourselves in our stories. Time.

So, I invite you to take my hand and walk alongside me this coming week. Let’s talk.

Lila by Marilyn Robinson

The Goldfinch by Donna Tart

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

The Music Room by William Fiennes

Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood

Colorless, Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

The Wall by William Sutcliffe

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Airborn by Kenneth Oppel

19 thoughts on “Slice #25: Walk Alongside Me

Leave a comment